Learning Management Systems and PLEs

Learning Management Systems – I spent about an hour looking at comparisons of what various systems offered, and must confess, I was ready to run screaming from the room. All of the catch phrases are there, in abundance: transformational, collaborative, innovative. Integrated! Learning analytics! It seems that now the big market push is for e Portfolios, so that lifelong learners have “the ability to document their learning journey, and share their achievements with peers and evaluators beyond their graduation date” (thanks to Desire2Learn).

This appears to be a response to what Dr. Brady has voiced: the restrictive environment of an institutionally bound LMS that “wipes the slate” at the end of the semester, so that students can no longer access their work. Implications: imagine beginning your diary as a child, but online as opposed to within a small key-locked book. Over the years you continue to write, journaling about your thoughts and experiences. To have access to who you were at that moment, years ago – being able to go back and revisit those thoughts and impressions. To have documented your life, your education, your very soul. Being able to link all of your online/digital products in one place where they remain accessible for as long as you need or desire almost hints at a state of immortality.

There are several articles that address how to choose the LMS that’s right for you and they tend to agree. List the functionalities that you need, prioritize them, and then compare systems. But even at that, there were over 120 Learning Management Systems listed at one comparison site (http://www.sharepointlms.com/compare/2.html).

CompareLMSj

We have an LMS at work, and I tried to figure out whose software it is. When I right clicked and looked at properties, I found http://www.W3.org. When I checked their site, however, I discovered that they are the World Wide Web Consortium, “an international community that develops open standards to ensure the long term growth of the web”. So I don’t really think they authored my LMS, but possibly provided the template that was used for the web page I obtained the properties from. I suspect that the system itself may be Sharepoint, as that is also what is used for our internal web sharing. I have found our “learning Portal” to be helpful in that it has made the need to compile and store hard copy training records obsolete. I can now print my entire training history of over 20 years with just a click.

As for features, the LMS provides searchability by topic or operational area. When I log on, it brings up my job title and a list of position qualifications that go with that title. Unfortunately, they all show me as “missing the qualification form my qualification profile”, and then when you click on that, it notes “you do not have this qualification”, followed by “There is currently no course offered that imparts this qualification”. ????? So the LMS tells me I am unqualified for my position and there is no training available to remedy that.

I like that I can book just about any course that I am interested in; I make the request and an email goes to my manager asking him to approve it. Once he does, I usually have 90 days to complete the course. Much of the courseware offered on my LMS are canned Skillsoft courses; these tend to be text-based PowerPoint type presentations. You advance through each slide while voice over reads the text. As you complete a module, you are tested by multiple choice or drag and drop options. Your test results are immediately scored and depending on the lower limit of acceptable, you might have to take the material again. I find this whole approach extremely tedious, plus, if it is complex information, I take a screen shot as I pass thru each slide so that I have a “text” that I can refer to. I do not believe that any training course should be offered without content resources available. Some of the courses border on “simulations”, such as one that taught about using Adobe Flash. I did find this approach helpful in learning a new procedure, such as the correct order of activities, but for the most part I think that I am more likely to do a google search on a topic and learn about it that way than depend on the content available to me in the system.

I think that technology all comes down to user friendliness. WebCT seemed workable enough; now that UNM has moved to Blackboard Learn, I am finding some frustrating issues, particularly as relates to the “settings” that are apparently selected by the instructor. For example, in one class I am not permitted to make an attachment to an in-class email. In the other class I can, but if I have more than one document I can attach only one, and have to complete another email for the other attachment. Same with the discussion threads; only one attachment allowed! I think I did find an in course blog that permitted me to do two attachments. A small thing, but frustrating. I also prefer to have links to the major course areas listed in the menu to the left. In one of my current courses you must click on a learning module to open yet another menu to access discussions related to that module (as opposed to just clicking on “discussions” at the left).

In sampling through some of the available LMSs out there, I did find that they were beginning to find ways to enable plug ins or access to the more popular social media sites such as You Tube. Desire2Learn offers “other social tools including instant messaging, email, blogging, and hundreds of third party integrations including Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn©, Google, Microsoft Office, and many more integrations.”

I found the article on Personal Learning Environments to be intriguing. In a previous class with Dr. Grassberger we learned to develop Personal Learning Networks (PLNs), a compilation of resources (hardcopy, digital and human) that we would frequently turn to when researching or seeking information. As Sclater noted in his article, current LMS approaches encourage dependency rather than autonomy by restricting what is accessed and how it is used. So we, as adult learners, navigate back and forth between the LMS and our “outside” resources to accomplish our tasks. In this sense, we have each created our own personal learning environment – it just isn’t an integrated one.

It appears to me that developers are trying to respond to the needs of students and educators as well as to those of administrators. As we grow into digitally complex individuals who seek to come together for collaboration or just to share information, new ways to bring our personal tools into the mix, whether by way of a higher learning experience or just as a social aside, there needs to be a better means of integrating all of those digitalized pieces of ourselves together.

9 thoughts on “Learning Management Systems and PLEs

  1. kcbrady says:

    Good post, Sherry. That system you have at work might be an LMS based on SharePoint. I know MS is marketing one. One of the things your post points up is the difference between these systems in the business world and in the academic world. In the business world, the systems are designed to keep track of employee training courses (and yes, those courses are badly designed), while in the academic world, the system manages the “classroom transactions” as well as tracking student performance. Neither system is actually concerned with learning, its management software.

    • sburrill2013 says:

      Thanks, Kevin. Makes me wonder if the perfect LMS should be modular (buffet style) with pick and choose for administrators, instructors and students. Might be able to get more of an emphasis on learning that way. Right now it seems as though no one is completely happy.

  2. I love the idea of e-portfolios to document a person’s educational life. I feel it would be fascinating to look back at work completed over time. Even in my classroom, I have students who will say, “Remember when we did that powerpoint on (some topic)” It would be amazing for the students to be able to have their previous work easily accessible for as long as they wanted it. Nice post!

    Elizabeth

  3. Robin says:

    Hi Sherry,

    Beautifully lyrical lead in and conclusion. It’s funny that so many kids are regretting what they shared on FaceBook, yet we are looking for a way to preserve our hard work and to chronicle our journeys in learning. It’s unfortunate that our educational venue online can’t be as organic as the process we go through in earning this master’s degree.

    Also, I learned Flash through an online course at CNM and wouldn’t trade that experience for a shorter shot of training. Yet, your point about looking online for specifics when it comes to expanding that knowledge rings true for me.

    Finally, I was also overwhelmed by how complicated this field has become based on programming considerations more than teaching principles. To me, that emphasis cuts an essential thought process out of the picture. In Lockhart, P. (2009). A mathematician’s lament. Bellevue Literary Press New York, he laments the mechanization of math and the emphasis on the what rather than the why of an artform. We do the same thing with writing and reading, which makes it more about structure than joy. And it appears to me that the powers that be are doing the same thing to e-learning and the synergistic bond between instructor and student.

    So, thank you for expressing so many things I was thinking about. It is always a learning experience when I read your blog.

    Robin

    P.S. You are correct about the W3. It’s a great source for programmers and to find information on accessibility, but that info is part of the html now but won’t be under HTML5.

  4. sburrill2013 says:

    Thanks for your thoughtful response, Robin. While technology opens doors, it also complicates. One has to consider the trade offs. I suppose it is worth it in the long run, but still I wonder about that butterfly effect. George Orwell and Ray Bradbury sometimes got it right.

  5. izzie2013 says:

    Sherry,

    I enjoyed the opening piece of your post as it relates to a lifelong learning journal, and it seems funny to me to think about a kid documenting their thoughts on a computer as opposed to writing in their secret journal (with lock & key) up in a tree or sitting by the river..

    It was funny to read about your story as you reviewed your own qualifications for your job with no training available. Doesn’t sound like they use that part of the LMS!

    Technology should be user-friendly, for sure. I think about the many times I have tried to learn something online only to be frustrated and quit. This relates more to a spontaneous learning when I ventured beyond my means into a highly technical area. The best technology training is intuitive.

    I’d like to learn more about PLE’s and PLN’s, and will probably explore them more later in this class.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts in this interesting post!

    Izzie

  6. Carolyn says:

    Reading your posting about a lifelong process of journaling makes me wonder how this will all be stored! The idea of the new Data Science field would have to address this issue in some regard. And when you talked about regrets for posting on Facebook, I wonder if students may regret posting their thoughts online as well. Sometime we just don’t want to remember things we have done in our past!

    I am familiar with Skillsoft courses, and the use of powerpoint method with quizzes can become rather mundane. I think our challenge as instructional designers to use technology would be to come up with ways that area easily adapted for instructors to use that eliminates this type of structure. I hope that by the end of this course we are all better equipped to use technology to engage the learners, and make the technology so transparent the learner simply experiences learning.

    Carolyn

  7. Very cool Sherry~!
    I love that “you’re not qualified for you job and you can’t remedy it’! hahah! Well you are still awesome in my book~! 😉 Love the way you distill information.
    I really like the idea of “Personal Learning Environments” that’s intriguing~! I begin to see why sometimes interacting in BBLearn can feel isolating, its related the the comment, “by restricting what is accessed and how it is used.” It does feel like the knowledge is somewhere outside the environment and we have to leave to access it. I wonder if a model for design could improve that experience. For example, Lani’s WisCom model is focused on creating community. It makes more sense to me to discover knowledge outside the community then bring it back into the community and share. But perhaps, we are missing that essential sense of community in the LMS environment?
    -Babette

  8. tdesoto says:

    Hi Sherry!
    Great post! I totally understand your frustration with BBLearn. I am slow learning to navigate but there is so much that we are limited to do in the system. I think just about any LMS system is adequate but the key to success lies in the hands of the instructor. The LMS is just a tool, how it is utilized is how well it induces learning.

    Tomi

Leave a comment